top of page

Trust the wild


One of my favorite poems I've written ...

TRUST THE WILD

Carve me open

Where my skin

Meets the wind

And my spirit

Yearns

To lavish

Its calling

There is no safety

At this junction.

Don’t be fooled here

It’s an incision

Of submission

To the noble arts

Of careless trust

Fiery love

In the making

I leave my wardrobe

At the entrance

To gather bluffs

Among the maze

It will

No longer serve

My synthetic

Seductive fears

To smear me

I strip

The assuming

False identities

That man

Has forced

My mind

To swallow

I let my programs

Hang out

To dry

And shrivel

The leaves

Will carry me now

On their roots

Scattered low

Spread amongst

The musty

Bacteria enriched soils

Of our mothers

Bountiful belly

Lichen grows

Upon my back

Minerals adorning

The mossy mat

Of my hair

I dowse myself

With a mighty whiff

Of the healing musk

In Mother Earth

I walk heavy

Yet clearly free

With dusty loads

Between my toes

I am the wild

The wilderness

Is the womb

Of my spirit

Filled with soul

I enter it

As my home

For it is where

I will find

What is

Within me

Copyright-2016-David DeWolf

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page